My 3-Month Transformation

This picture was taken October 31st, 2011

This picture was taken April 2012, approx. 3 months after lifestyle change!

Hello again!! I know it’s been awhile since I’ve written, but that does not mean that I’ve been slacking on the PCOS research or implementation of my new lifestyle. It’s been approximately 3 months since I began the PCOS-related diet restrictions, medication regularity and workout routine, and I am SO proud to say that I’ve shed just about 30 pounds! It hasn’t been easy. If it is, then it’s not safe, so if you feel like it’s the hardest thing you’ve ever had to do in your life, then you’re doing it right!So far, other than the mere satisfaction of seeing results and knowing this is the outcome of severely hard work, I’ve had some amazing things come out of all of this and only THREE months in! Here’s a checklist of why I’m so happy I made this decision and why I will continue to push forward.

1. Confidence. After being bullied your whole life, your confidence level severely diminishes. Now that I have more energy and know that I am doing everything I can to make me healthy, I have so much more confidence in everything I do on a daily basis. Whether it’s walking into the grocery store in my spandex workout pants (hehe) or talking to someone who I thought would never give me the time of day, confidence is important to have regardless of how you find your way there. 🙂

2. My gym is my 2nd family. I will preach until the day I die that I am a city girl at heart and belong in Los Angeles or New York, but I can talk until I’m blue in the face about the benefits of a small town. The first day I entered 159 Fitness I was hooked on the hospitality and comfortability I immediately felt. A small-town gym offers more personal recognition, one-on-one time with trainers and in-depth solutions to any personal health issues I’m struggling with. Although they kick my ass and make me wish I could just have an ice cream, they make showing up every day more of a blessing than a chore. AND, some of the best people I’ve ever been privileged to know and call friends, I met at this small-town gym. 🙂

3. THEY FIT! This might be one of those no-brainers of getting fit and losing weight, but for someone who’s tried her whole life to lose weight without results, it’s a bigger deal. My mom bought me a pair of jeans TWO years ago that got pushed to the back of my closet because I swore I would never get in them. Turns out, I was wrong. I finally got into them! My mom was just psychic, as always, and knew I’d kick my own ass one day.

4. Perspective. It bothers me that there will be people who say, “30 pounds, no big deal,” or “she doesn’t look that different in those two pictures.” Well, perspective is important. While helping the instructor pick up after class today, I was holding about 26 pounds-worth of free weights in my arms. I turned to her and said, “This is less than what I’ve lost, and it’s really heavy…” We both just smiled really big. You really don’t know how much you’re carrying around until it’s gone. And perspective for onlookers is so important. You might think that “yeah, she has a lot more to lose” but if you see through my perspective, this is a big deal and instead of being ignorant or arrogant, instead, be supportive so that long way I still have won’t be lonely.

5. Inspiration. My mom thinks it’s weird that I can get inspiration or motivation from watching TV shows like “America’s Next Top Model”, haha, but I’m weird like that. However, if you’ve ever gone to the gym, you know the feeling of being inspired by other people at the gym. I participate in classes with 70+ year-old men and women who work just as hard as I do, I sweat just as hard as the girl next to me whose half my size and even though you all might have different health issues, ages, injuries or reasons for joining the gym, there’s a commonality among all of you, and it’s important to respect that and gain inspiration from those who are showing up to sweat with you. 🙂 I never want to let them down, not show up for a class, because what if I’m an inspiration to them, too?

Ok, I could go on and on, like how much my family is awesome for supporting me and how much I love actually becoming an employee of the gym, etc. etc., but I’m sure most of you stopped reading at check point #2 because I talk too much. But anyway, the update is that I’m having fun working hard, and I plan on losing at least 30 pounds more in the next 3 months. 😀

Cheers!

5 thoughts on “My 3-Month Transformation

Leave a Reply

